John T Lyle Memorial Trust Fund Scholarship Recipients Announced

The following students have been selected to receive a scholarship from the John T. Lyle Memorial Trust Fund for the 2016-2017 school year. The scholarships are awarded annually to Dane County students who have a career goal in agriculture or a related field, exhibit a strong sense of community volunteerism and service, maintain high grades, and participate in 4-H or FFA.

Shannon Lamb

$2,000 – Shannon Lamb of Dane will be enrolled at University of Wisconsin-Platteville in the fall. She plans to study Molecular Biology with a focus on Crop and Soil Science to research techniques that improve crop efficiency. She currently manages the dairy herd on a diversified production farm.

Lindsey Sarbacker

$2,000 – Lindsey Sarbacker of Edgerton plans to attend the University of Wisconsin’s College of Agriculture in Madison. A long-time 4-H Junior Dairy Leader, she has grown up being involved in agriculture and is excited to make it a career choice by becoming a professional in the dairy industry.

Katelyn Endres

$1,500 – Katelyn Endres of DeForest plans to become a veterinary tech by earning an associate’s degree from Madison College. Her experience raising calves at her family’s farm has inspired her to want to work with large animals at a veterinarian clinic or farm.

Clarice Loeffelholz

$1,500 – Clarice Loeffelholz of Belleville intends to earn a degree in Animal Science at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville. She currently feeds and maintains beef cattle and horses and is an advocate for agriculture as the Belleville Dairy Queen.

Taylor Dolan

$1,000 – Taylor Dolan of Sun Prairie will be attending University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee to study veterinary medicine. Her goal is to become a large animal veterinarian, a important career in agriculture. She has shown horses for 7 years and is the greenhouse manager for Sun Prairie High School’s FFA.

Carlie Rademacher

$1,000 – Carlie Rademacher of Cottage Grove will be attending University of Wisconsin-Platteville. Her career goal is to return to her family dairy and beef operation as a partner, running the financial side of the business and eventually becoming the herd manager.

The John T. Lyle scholarship program is administered by Dane County UW-Extension. The UW-Extension Committee of the Dane County Board of Supervisors awards the scholarships each year at one of their spring meetings. The number and amount of scholarship awards vary each year, depending on the number of applications received and the amount of funds available for distribution.

Dane County UW-Extension is a partnership between Dane County and the University of Wisconsin Extension working together to help people put knowledge to work. It reflects the vision that has become known as The Wisconsin Idea. This partnership brings education to people where they live, and supports educational programs for farmers, businesses, communities, families and young people throughout Dane County.